Home > DIY, Make, networking > IPCop, copfilter, dansguardian – ultimate firewall device

IPCop, copfilter, dansguardian – ultimate firewall device

I have a scavenged 400 MHz Dell Optiplex GX1 with an extra network card protecting the network like one of the big boys:

  1. Smoothwall taking care of the firewall stuff
  2. Spam assassin taking care of all the spam (70% of traffic is spam on the mail server)
  3. QOS traffic shaping for VOIP.
  4. Full content filtering via dansguardian – daily blacklist updates
  5. privoxy to filter out ads, etc from web pages.
  6. ClamAV protecting the network from viruses, including phishing emails- daily profile updates

It took some time to get running properly, mostly from me getting up to speed on how the components work. I did run into some trouble for a few hours when I wasn’t careful and installed an incompatible version of dansguardian. Killed http completely for a bit.

It started getting a little flaky as I got everything turned on and configured. After scratching my head a bit, I figured out the system was running out of memory. I disabled Antivirus and everything was fine. Today I upped the RAM to 320 MB and it seems to be working perfectly.

I was afraid running all that on one old machine would overload it, but it seems to be totally fine. Web browsing is noticably snappier due to privoxy screening out all the junk.

Other than the time invested, this thing cost me $0. I could acquire the parts for easily less than $100, maybe less than $50.

Categories: DIY, Make, networking
  1. July 13, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    Hello, I was just reading this and thought I would take the time to write a short note to inform you all that we offer blacklists tailored specifically for Squid proxy native acl, as well as alternative formats for the most widely used third party plugins. So we invite you all to check us out. We take a great deal of pride in the fact that our works offer a higher degree of quality than the freely available options. Our lists are also compatible with UrlFilterdb.

    Quality Blacklists Tailored For Squid Proxy – http://www.squidblacklist.org

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

