Home > DIY, networking, OSX, Software, ubuntu > Synergy

Synergy

Synergy is a nifty open source project that allows you to share a keyboard and mouse dynamically between multiple computers. Clipboard contents are even shared. It works on Linux, Windows, and Mac OSX. When it’s set up, to the user it is just like a multiple head setup, but each monitor has a computer attached to it.  I used it for quiet some time with my OSX desktop machine and my XP machine. As time went on I used the XP side less and less until I just hooked both monitors up to the Mac. Lately I’ve been missing my home office Ubuntu machine when at the main office, so I set up a new (used) Via fanless Ubuntu Feisty machine to my left monitor and set up Synergy between them.

I really needed to ability to have multiple rdesktop windows open simultaneously. I need to do that often, and this just works like a charm. The fanless system has just enough performance to get by with, and it runs cool and silent.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Categories: DIY, networking, OSX, Software, ubuntu
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

